Cub Scouts hold annual Derby Car Race

Published on Wednesday, 30 November -0001 00:00
Hits: 0

The Cub Scouts held their annual Derby Car Race Saturday, Jan. 21. There were 10 cars entered and nine boys will move on to the district race to be held April 14 in Winsted.

The racers include

* Champion Riley Matthiesen whose car broke the 5-year record for a time of 2.586, equivalent to 199.4 miles per hour.

* Second-place overall finisher was Alex Zoller

* Third place overall was Trevor Combs.

The boys that are advancing and will race in Winsted are (Lion) Alex Zoller; (Tigers) Andrew Hennen, Wyatt Anderson, and Robert Curtis; (Wolves) Skylor Gruba and Jayden Randall.

The Webelos II are Riley Matthiesen, Trevor Combs, and Joshua Statz.

Submitted by Pam Matthiesen,

Webelos II Den Leader