Tricounty News

Burning restrictions eased May 6

The Department of Natural Resources (DNR) has announced that open burning restrictions will be lifted in 18 counties in central Minnesota.

Beginning at 8 a.m. Friday, May 6, landowners in the following counties may request burning permits: Anoka, Benton, Chisago, Dakota, Douglas, Hennepin, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Pope, Ramsey, Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, Washington and Wright.

Wildfire Prevention Coordinator, Larry Himanga said, "The cooler and wetter weather conditions we experienced the past several weeks and the ability of forestry personnel to regulate burning on a daily basis with our electronic burn permit system allows for earlier lifting of restrictions."

Himanga noted, however, that because statewide restrictions are lifted does not mean that individuals will automatically be allowed to burn each day. "Forestry offices will be monitoring the weather each day and will restrict burning in those counties that warrant it due to fire danger on any given day," he said.

Restrictions will remain in effect for most of northern Minnesota, even though recent precipitation has lessened fire danger. The cooler weather has slowed the green-up process. As spring progresses northward, additional counties will have restrictions lifted.

Open burning for the above counties will be allowed for up to three days, with most permits issued for evening fires. Permits may be obtained from local forestry offices, fire wardens or on-line. Permits purchased on-line require a single payment of $5. The fee covers the remainder of this year; however, people must still activate their permit on the day they wish to burn. If fire danger is high, they may not be able to activate their permit.

Municipalities and some cities may enforce regulations that are stricter than those put in place by the DNR. Check with local authorities for additional rules that may be imposed.