Tricounty News

The Catholic Foundation announces new board members

Five new members are joining the Board of Directors for The Catholic Foundation. In September 2010, two members began their three-year term. Steve Torberg is a member of St. Wendelin's parish in Luxemburg and a resident of >St. Cloud. Bob Bauer is a Paynesville resident and a member of St. Louis parish in Paynesville.

In January 2011, three members will begin their three-year term. Jimmy Chan is a member of St. Mary's parish in Alexandria, Joanne Broschofsky is a member of St. Joseph's parish in Pierz and Donna Dohmen is a member of St. Andrew's parish in Elk River.

The Catholic Foundation Board meets five times a year to review grant applications and oversee the grants distribution process. By distributing grants, it financially supports the spiritual, educational and social needs of the local Catholic community. The Catholic Foundation has given more than $1 million in grants during the last five years to local Catholic parishes and schools.

The Catholic Foundation is located in the Diocese of St. Cloud, but is a separate corporation from the diocese. The region it supports encompasses 16 central-Minn. counties, stretching from Elk River in the south to Wadena in the north and covering the entire east-west span of Central Minnesota.