Softball season year-end awards

Published on Wednesday, 30 November -0001 00:00
Hits: 0
The 2008 softball season awards have been determined and were given out at the season-end gathering. All-Conference awards from the Central Minnesota Conference went to sophomore infielder Tesslynn Callander and senior catcher Holly Garding as First Team selections. Second Team all-conference picks were senior pitcher Ashley Schiefelbein, senior second base Kayla Kastanek, and senior first base Mindy Hurrle. The CMC also gives Academic All-Conference awards to players who have a GPA above 3.75. For the Cubs these awards went to seniors Ashley Schiefelbein, Kayla Kastanek, Sammi Stewart-James, and Daniela Weever; junior Kendra Albers and sophomore Tesslynn Callander also received the academic awards. Local awards are determined by team vote or statistics. The Most Valuable Player award went to Tesslynn Callander, and The Team Player award was voted to Sammi Stewart-James. Based on statistics, the Most Valuable Bat went to Tesslynn Callander, and Most Valuable Glove went to Mindy Hurrle. Letter winners were seniors Holly Garding, Mindy Hurrle, Kayla Kastanek, Amanda Kuseske, Brianna Rosenow, Heather Ryan, Ashley Schiefelbein, Brittnay Simmons, Sammi Stewart-James, and Daniela Weever. Juniors were Kendra Albers, Cassandra Loch, and Amy Massmann. Tesslynn Callander was the sophomore letterwinner. Junior Bridget Gohmann lettered as manager/statistician. The Minnesota State Softball Coaches Association gives recognition for playing ability and also academics. The Kimball Softball team received a Silver Certificate for Team academics for posting a team cumulative GPA of 3.69. Four seniors were given Academic All-State for GPA above 3.75. These players were Kayla Kastanek, Ashley Schiefelbein, Sammi Stewart-James, and Daniela Weever. The final decision made was for the 2009 captains which were voted on by the team. Selected for next season were Kendra Albers and Tesslynn Callander. With this, the curtain comes down on the 2008 season. The awards have been given, the equipment inventoried, and the school year concluded. We will reconvene in March 2009. Gary O. Reiss, coach