Tricounty News

Pacesetter basketball championships

All youth basketball teams in grades 5-9 in Kimball area schools have been invited to enter playoffs for the 2008 Minnesota Youth Basketball State Championships, which are conducted by Pacesetter Sports and sponsored by Minnesota Basketball News. Regional playoff sites have been set in eight regions across Minnesota; Regaion 1 - Rochester and Wykoff; Region 2 - Mankato; Region 3 - Marshall; Region 4 - St. Paul; Region 5 - New London; Region 6 - Wadena and Fergus Falls; Region 7 - Eveleth and Virginia; Region 8 - Crookston and Mahnomen. Teams may play in any region and in more than one region. The Region 5 playoffs will be held at New London-Spicer High School for boys' and girls' teams in grade nine and boys' teams in grade five on April 5, for boys and girls in grade eight and girls in grade five on April 12, boys and girls in grade seven on April 19, and for boys and girls in grade six on April 26. Each region is limited to 16 teams. All teams will play three to four games in each regional tournament. Regional championships are invited to play in the eight-team Minnesota Youth Basketball State Championship in St. Cloud in June. All players must attend the same school or live in the same school district. All athletic directors and high school coaches have been sent registration materials with more information. Teams may also register online at or call (320) 243-7460.