Tricounty News

Area students honored at banquet

Students from the Kimball area were among those honored at the 21st annual Students of Excellence banquet and awards ceremony April 30 at the St. Cloud Civic Center. More than 650 people attended the event, honoring the area's top 167 high school seniors, graduating from 43 high schools in central Minnesota. Welcoming the guests was Dr. Rob Cavanna, executive director for Resource Training & Solutions, coordinators and sponsors of the event. "You will be the leaders and role models for tomorrow," Cavanna said. "Look to create community-focused societies in whatever you choose to do after you graduate." Criteria for selection to the recognition event is at the discretion of each school, but based upon recommended guidelines. Schools can choose two to four  seniors and have the option to invite favorite teachers, coaches and administrators. Resource Training & Solutions has been sponsoring, coordinating ad fiscally supporting the event since 1987. Sandra Cordie, director of educational programs for the agency, organizes the event. Students from this area honored included: • Kimball - Courtney Colwill, Brian Johnson, Samuel Scheeler and Ashley Schiefelbein. • Eden Valley-Watkins - Jackie Asfeld, Lisa Colon, Dan Holdvogt and Simon Kern. • Holdingford - Erika Bullert, Kayla Kleinjan, Ashley Meagher and Kristen Pogatschnik. • Paynesville - Lee Buermann, Wendy Buermann, Natalie Leadem and Jeremy Schmidt. • Cold Spring ROCORI -   Peter Bockhaus, Joel Gregory, Kateri Salk and Ashley Weber.