Tricounty News

CMAB art awards

The Central Minnesota Arts Board (CMAB) has announced the recipients of the 2008 Individual Aretist Awards, with four artists receiving an award of $3,000. Selected to receive the awards are: sculpter Lester Hoikka of Annandale; schulpter Lazare Rottach of Becker; painter Aremy McCann of St. Joseph; and   poet Lawrence Schug of Avon. The purpose of the Individual Aetist Award program is to recognize, reward and encourage outstanding artists in the region who have demonstrated prominent artistic achievement. Artists at various stages of their careers applied for this award. An advisory panel made up of seven professional artists reviewed work samples from 39 applicants from the four-county area. For more information about CMAB, go to or call (866) 345-7140.