Tricounty News

Kimball School Board election results

In Kimball, four candidates ran for three seats on the board. With a mere 200 votes separating the highest from the lowest candidate, all four came in very close in votes. Current board chair Kurt Helgeson, however, received the fewest votes. Incumbents Bob Stein and Tim Zipoy won re-election, and newcomer Troy Hilsgen also was elected.

In the Eden Valley-Watkins district, six candidates ran for four spots. Incumbents Sarah Kuechle, Shelley Kern and Bob Stenger won re-election, and Robert Flaschenriem also was elected.

All candidates should be commended on their willingness to serve. Local political office often is a thankless job. Those who have won election will take office at the first meeting in January.