Tricounty News

EV-W wrestlers win N-YA tourney

W-zach EV-W wrestler Zach Blonigen was named MVW with 2 pins and a technical fall at Norwood-Young America Invitational Jan. 5.

Blonigen named MVW

Eden Valley-Watkins wrestlers put the clamps on all opponents to secure the title of tournament champions Saturday, Jan. 5, at the Norwood-Young America Invitational. Coach Dan Berg was more than pleased with the team effort. “Well, it is always fun to win a tournament. The boys came ready to wrestle. A lot of our guys dropped a weight class or two so we didn’t know what to expect with their energy level but they did a great job.” The Eagles displayed a true team effort, as every wrestler placed 6th or higher. “Zach Blonigen was named the tournament MVW, with two pins and a technical fall, and I couldn’t be more proud of him. He works very hard every day and it is well deserved,” said Berg. The guys who ordinarily get the “ink” did their jobs, but according to Coach Berg, those who don’t get talked about much; like Tyler Donnay, Grant Winter, Shelby Sheldon, and Lyle Miller, came through big, to help capture the trophy. Said Berg, “I just hope we can use this momentum and carry it through the week, or maybe longer.”

Final Standings

Place Score Name
1st 170.50 EV-W
2nd 168.50 St.M-A
3rd 164.00 Sibley East
4th 157.00 Central
5th 135.00 Delano
6th 106.50 St. Paul Johnson
7th   67.00 Redwood Valley
8th   42.00 Minnehaha Acad./ DeLaSalle

EV-W results of individual places earned: Tyler Donnay, 2nd; Zach Blonigen, 1st; Hunter Matheis, 4th; Donavin McCann, 3rd; Cain Renner, 1st; Austin Peterson, 1st; Luke Kuechle, 2nd; Grant Winter, 4th; Shelby Sheldon, 6th; Lyle Miller, 3rd.

Next, the Eagles travel to Pierz, Tuesday, Jan. 8, to battle the Pioneers.

 Eden Valley-Watkins wrestlers secured the first-place title with a score of 170.50 in the wrestling tournament Saturday, Jan. 5, at the Norwood-Young America Invitational. The EV-W team holds their trophies and are wearing their medals in the photo. Dan Berg is head coach. Assistant coaches are Grant Johnson and Heath Kramer.