Tricounty News

‘Annie’ production brings unexpected reunion

When St. Nicholas-area resident Trish Ludwig decided to try out for a role in the EV-W spring musical “Annie,” she was in for an unexpected reunion with a woman she had not seen since high school.W-orphans-with-Tamara-McKlintock

It was the first night of practice and the choreographer, Tamara McKlintock, was showing the cast what to do in the first song. “Her voice sounded so familiar,” Ludwig said. “I kept asking people who she was, but no one knew her.”

Ludwig mentioned to cast-mate Nick Block that the choreographer reminded her of her high school drama teacher. Finally, Ludwig asked director Vicki Meyer the name of the choreopgrapher.


26 named EV-W CMC all-academic team

Twenty-six EV-W students were named to the Central Minnesota Conference all-academic team for the winter season. To qualify, a student must have W-All-Academic-CMC-team-DSCN0359lettered and maintained an accumulated 3.7 grade point average or better during the winter season. Those achieving this award were (from left in front): speech members Cam Flaschenriem, Nathan Utecht, Heidi Geislinger, Brandi Asfeld, and Maggie Schmaltz. In second row are speech members Dyani Acosta, Paige Thielen, Anne Benson, Kaitlyn Gruber, Kennedy Kleist and Hannah Holmberg In third row are girls’ basketball players Elaina Stommes, Maria Holdvogt, Greta Stommes and Bobbi Block. In fourth row are boys’ basketball players Travis Thielen and Mitch Molitor; wrestler Matt Schindler, boys’ basketball Reese Janson and Jared Streit; girls’ basketball players Mindy Forcier, Brook Stang, Mikayla Kummet, Breanna Stang and Jamie Scherer. Not pictured is Rae Eckerly. Submitted photo.


EV-W FFA Alumni drawing winners

The Eden Valley-Watkins FFA Alumni sponsored a drawing for Valley Meats in Eden Valley and Stein’s Thriftway in Watkins. The drawings were for five $50 gift certificates in honor of National Ag. Week March 23-30. Sunday, March 30, was the drawing for the Grocery Giveaway and the following names are the winners:


EV-W Speech team advances

The EV-W speech team advanced five members to the State Tournament at Blaine High School Saturday. Those who advanced are sophomore Heidi W-evw-state-speakersGeislinger-third place in Informative; junior Cameron Flaschenriem-third place in Great Speeches; freshman Nathan Utecht-third place in Discussion; junior Brandi Asfeld-second place in Great Speeches; and eighth-grader Maggie Schmaltz-second place in Storytelling. Seven others were Section finalists at the Region 5A Tournament Saturday at Melrose. Anne Benson-seventh place in Original Oratory; Emily Laumer-seventh place in Informative; George Lemke-seventh place in Extemporaneous Speaking; Sarah Wirz-sixth place in Prose; Kaitlyn Gruber-sixth place in Humorous; Paige Thielen-sixth place in Extemporaneous Reading; Katie Nelson-fifth place in Discussion. 

As a team, EV-W placed third.

As a team, EV-W placed third. They are, in front from left to right, Maggie Schmaltz, Brandi Asfeld, and Heidi Geislinger. In back are Nathan Utecht, and Cam Flaschenriem. Submitted photo.


EV-W A and B Honor Rolls third quarter

A Honor Roll

Grade 12

Misty Aho

Teresa Bautch

Brandon Faber

Madison Field

Shawnee Hennen

Brittany Hesse

Jazmine Massicotte

Erin Salo