Tricounty News

Girls' basketball ready to start

The EV-W girls’ basketball team had a scrimmage with ROCORI Saturday, Nov. 30. Their first game is Friday, Dec. 6, against NewW-EVW-Girls-Basketball-IMG 8394 London-Spicer. Above, junior Gretta Stommes gets fouled as she goes up for the shot.
Photo by Nick Block.


EV-W wins Tae Kwon Do tournament trophy

W-Eagle-Tae-Kwon-Do-photoCommunity Education Tae Kwon Do at Eden Valley-Watkins Schools is organized and instructed by Master Ben Peterson. The tournament was in Marshall Saturday, Oct. 26. EV-W students earned the most points for their division, and brought home the Division 3 trophy for
most points earned through competition in Sparring and Forms. Submitted photo.


Eden Valley-Watkins wrestling for 2013-14 campaign

The Eden Valley-Watkins wrestling team is well anchored by Coach Dan Berg. “Well we should have better expectations this year, even though we lost some key individuals in Zach Blonigen and Austin Peterson.” The Eagles return two state entrants in Cain Renner and Luke Kuechle and three letter winners in Hunter Mathies, Tyler Donnay, and Grant Winter. Berg’s expectations for his team include making the final four and getting a shot to make the finals. “So if you were a state entrant, maybe place this year, make the state tournament, place higher in sections, place in sections, or improve from last year.” The Eagles’ toughest competition is probably a very formidable ACGC squad in the section. Additionally, there are some key and very competitive wrestlers returning from Kimball, Osakis, and B-B-E. “It should be an interesting year, with some experienced guys coming back and also some newcomers starting out,” said Coach Berg. “We have Matt Schindler, Tyler Dockendorf, Logan Donnay, John Salzl, and Lyle Miller, back from last year’s team and many others that will contribute,” added Berg. The Eagles’ grapplers look to improve on a 7-9 record from last year, and look forward to hosting their first ever Elementary Wrestling Tournament – Dec. 21.


EV-W girls’ basketball for 2013-14 campaign

Eden Valley-Watkins girls’ basketball coach Tom Jansen did an outstanding job last year, finishing undefeated (14-0) in conference play, with an impressive 21-5 overall mark. Key players lost to graduation include conference player of the year, center Courtney Dilley, and guards Missy Kummet and Holly Schumacher. All three ladies received first team all-conference honors for their exceptional efforts. The lady Eagles have some big shoes to fill this year, but Coach Jansen and the entire roster, are confident of achieving a successful venture.


EV-W boys’ basketball for 2013-14

As the temperature outdoors begins to drop, the high school sports action moves indoors. With area athletes chomping at the bit to get the winter competition underway, coaches are optimistic and look forward to successful journeys as the new season rapidly approaches.

Returning two leading scorers and first-team all-conference members Bret Mattice (15 ppg.) and Jared Streit (13.2 ppg.), the Eden Valley-Watkins boys’ basketball team sports plenty of leadership. “With those two players returning, we should have two great leaders on and off the floor. Other than that, we don’t have a lot of varsity experience coming back, with losing five seniors who played a lot of minutes, so we will have to develop as a team and hopefully learn what it takes to win,” coach Adam Langer said. The Eagles ended last year on a high note, winning five of their last eight, including a home playoff victory, their first playoff win since the 2007-08 expedition. “Hopefully we can carry that momentum into this season. Our conference will be pretty balanced, and I think B-B-E is the favorite coming in, with the rest of the teams battling it out for second through eighth,” added Langer. This year’s athletes vying for playing time: Nick Pauly, senior; Alex Nesenson, senior; Dion Hirman, senior; Bret Mattice, junior; Jared Streit, junior; Austin Schlangen, junior; Tyler Neu, junior; DeShaun James, sophomore; Travis Thielen, sophomore; Reese Jansen, freshman; Jacob Streit, freshman.