Tricounty News

EV-W School Board goes paperless, prepares for budget cuts


The Eden Valley-Watkins School Board is moving forward with plans to go paperless. Using BoardBook, a web-based secure system, all documents pertaining to the board will be accessible to board members online using a computer or tablet reader. Agendas, minutes, financial reports, policies and more will be kept online, searchable by board members and school administration. No longer will multiple sets of board packets need to be photocopied and mailed out before each meeting. It is anticipated that the cost savings each year will pay for the system, about $2,000 a year. The board’s goal is to have BoardBook up and ready for the June board meeting.

Science curriculum was presented to the board, as it is up for cyclical review. Sharon Borgert, Heidi Kuechle, and Dave Dziengel presented, and the board approved the new curriculum that had gone through extensive review and planning, and a detailed report prepared. The new curriculum is very rigorous, with each grade level building on the previous grade. Grades K-3 now have books, where they used to only have science kits. EV-W has chosen chemistry instead of physics for the tenth-grade requirement beginning with the class of 2015.


EV-W Mixed SATB Choir wins Superior Rating

The Eden Valley-Watkins High School SATB Mixed Choir received a Superior Rating at the April 8 MSHSL competition.W-EVW-Mixed-Choir


EV-W H.S. Women's Choir wins Superior Rating

The MSHSL Large Group Contest for Eden Valley-Watkins High School musicians was held at ACGC High School Monday, April 8. In the W-EVW-Female-Group
competition, EV-W won the SSA Women’s Choir Superior Rating.



EV-W Band wins excellent rating

EV-W High School band (at right)  participated in the MSHSL large Group Contest at ACGC High School Monday, April 8. They came W-EVW-Bandaway with an excellent rating! Eden Valley-Watkins band members are, left to right, in front, Heidi Geislinger, Erin Salo, Gretta Stommes, Maria Holdvolt, Kayla Coulter, Mindy Forcier, and Faith Forcier. In middle are Nicole Kerzman, Anne Benson, Evie Zadra, Kali Covert, Paige Thielen, Lexi Pauls, Tyler Dockendorf, and Andrew Schlangen. In back are Julia Stotz, Kayla Meyer, Bobbi Block, Maddy Geislinger, Patrick Latcham, Cameron Flaschenriem, Hali Birr, Jasmine Miller, Austin Gunderson, and Dylan Brown. Staff photo by Marguerite Laabs.


EV-W All Conference winter activities

Twenty-one EV-W students were recently named to the Central Minnesota all-conference first or second teams for winter extra curriculars. W-EVW-All-Conference-IMG 4093Pictured (from left) in back row are seniors Patrick Latcham (speech), Dylan Butterfass (speech), Deb Holdvogt (speech), Holly Schumacher (basketball), Courtney Dilley (basketball), Missy Kummet (basketball), Abbie Swenson (gymnastics - West Central Conference), Zach Blonigen (wrestling) and Austin Peterson (wrestling). In middle row are sophomore Anne Benson (speech), junior Erin Salo (speech), junior Dani Nelson (basketball), junior Cain Renner (wrestling), junior Luke Kuechle (wrestling), and junior Hunter Mathies (wrestling).  In front row are seventh-grader Matt Schindler (wrestling), seventh-grader Maggie Schmaltz (speech), sophomore Greta Stommes (basketball), sophomore Jared Streit (basketball), sophomore Bret Mattice, and sophomore Heidi Geislinger (speech). Staff photo by Marguerite Laabs.