Tricounty News

‘Reading for the Love of it!’

February is I Love to Read month! This year our slogan is ‘Reading for the Love of it!’ Throughout the four weeks of February we have various activities for each class, grade, and the whole school to participate in that pertain to reading. Please note that every Friday will be a different dress up day for students to show their love of reading.

Week 1 Feb. 3-7
W-KES -Mayor-Konz-Signing-Proc.-DSCF2793

• Proclamation signing with Tammy/Newspaper for Community Readers

• Each classroom decides on their favorite book and decorates their door to represent the book. Teachers can decide when it best fits into their schedule to take their class around to view all the doors.

• Friday, Feb. 7 – Crazy Sock Day

Week 2 Feb. 11-14

• Mr. Tritabaugh as ‘Dr. Suess’ reads to grades K-2 (schedules will be determined)

• WILD Country 99 DJ’s read to grades 3-6 (schedules will be determined)

• Friday, Feb. 14 – Red Day

Week 3 Feb. 18-21

• Community members come to read to the students. Schedules will also be determined for this.

• Friday, Feb. 21 – Tattoo Day (tattoos have been purchased for us to provide each child with a tattoo on that day)

Week 4 Feb. 24-28

• Friday, Feb. 28 is “Read the Most from Coast to Coast.” The committee has set a goal of 150 AR points for Kimball Elementary students to get in one day. If we accomplish this goal by 2 p.m. on Friday, all of the students will go to the gym at 2:15 p.m. for a Dance Party to celebrate.

• Friday, Feb. 28 – Neon Day 

Kimball mayor Tammy Konz signed a proclamation declaring February to be “I Love to Read” Month in Kimball. The proclamation was then signed by Leah Schiefelbein for KES Student Government. Joining her Monday morning, Feb. 3, at Kimball Elementary School were representatives from each classroom at the school. In back, from left to right, are Nathan Massmann, Bailee Schiefelbein, Austin Schindler, Jackie Massmann, Naomi Bollman, Brian Binsfeld, Leah Schiefelbein, and Mrs. Ann Palm. In front are Jordyn Theis, Nolan Nistler, Connor Kenning, Lily Ekert, mayor Tammy Konz, Blake Kiffmeier, Cameron Mertens, Amelia Hanan, and Ava Molitor. Staff photo by Jean Doran Matua.