Tricounty News

EV-W 2013 softball team achievements

Following a most successful and rewarding season, the 2013 Eden Valley-Watkins softball team, fresh off their impressive Third-Place state tournament finish, can lay claim to owning the best record in the history of the program, at 16-5. Though there were many valuable contributions by numerous talented players, coach Dave Dziengel remains a substantial part of the team’s accomplishments. His “just do it” attitude and “stay with it” practice methods are the perfect ingredients for a top-notch recipe. Dziengel said that the key to their team’s success is team work. Further, he noted that the overwhelming support the girls have received this year has not only been most appreciated, but it has been an integral part of the team’s fulfillments.

• 2013 All-Conference First Team: Baylee Lahr, Holly Schumacher, and Jamie Scherer

• 2013 All-Conference Honorable mention: Kaylee Forcier, Brook Stang, and Briana Plantenberg

• MVP:  Baylee Lahr

• Most Improved: Briana Plantenberg

• Future Eagle: Breanna Stang

• Miss RBI: Brook Stang

• Miss Hustle: Mindy Forcier

• Best Defender: Kaylee Forcier

• Miss Offense: Holly Shumacher

• 2013 All-Academic All-Conference: Mickael Lies, Kaylee Forcier, Brook Stang, Mindy Forcier, Faith Forcier

• All-Academic All-State: Kaylee Forcier, Mickael Lies

• All-State Honorable Mention second in program history
(sister Brook Scherer also was all-state honorable mention in 2012): Jamie Scherer

• All-State second team All-State Tournament team (first in program history): Holly Schumacher (In the state tournament Holly was 6-10 with 5 runs scored; she had
4 RBI and 2 home runs in the 2-1 finish.)

2013 All-Section: Baylee Lahr, Jamie Scherer, Brook Stang, Briana Plantenberg, Kaylee Forcier, Holly Schumacher, and Mickael Lies.W-EVW Girls Softball IMG 0746


At the 2013 State softball tournament, the Eden Valley-Watkins Eagles defeated the New York Mills Eagles in the first game, 4-2. They then lost to the New Life Academy Eagles of Woodbury, 4-6. They played the Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg Fighting Saints for third place and won, 7-2. Blooming Prairie was ultimately the Class A championship team, with New Life Academy claiming second place. Photo courtesy of Amanda Garding.